BOISE COLLEGE

COMMUNITY

SYMPHONY

ORCHESTRA

John H. Best, Conductor

Soloist: Paul Olefsky, Cellist

Thirty-Second Season

November 13, 1967

Boise College Auditorium

PROGRAM NOTES

Finnish born Armas Jarnefelt (1869-1958) influenced, through his composition and conducting, the musical life of his native country and Sweden for three-quarters of a century. His fame outside of Scandinavia has been eclipsed by his distinguished compatriot, Jan Sibelius.

Anton Kraft served as solo cellist in Haydn's Prince Esterhazy orchestra for twelve years, and it was for him the D Major Concerto was written. The orchestral accompaniment used this evening represents a revision by Gevaert, employing flutes, clarinets, and bassoons beyond the original Haydn score.

In the front ranks of the virtuosi leading a current revival of interest in the cello as a solo instrument is Olefsky. He has just finished his fifth European Tour and is in demand for recital and orchestral solo appearances throughout this country. After winning the coveted Naumburg award with subsequent Town Hall and Bell Telephone appearances, he became the youngest cellist with the Philadelphia Orchestra. In 1953 he won the Michaels Music Award, competing with a contingent of young artists that included Van Cliburn. Mr. Olefsky also devotes his talents to conducting, having directed chamber groups in major American cities. Currently he is on the faculty of Peabody Conservatory in Baltimore.

Only a few years after Sergei Prokofieff has been roundly criticized by the Soviet Cultural Ministry for composing "Decadent western music", he inscribes to his Fifth Symphony these words: "a symphony about the essential freedom of the spirit of man". At its premiere in Moscow in 1945, with the composer conducting, the symphony received immediate acclaim. Nestyev, in his biography of Prokofieff, writes: "The Fifth Symphony embodies the highest achievements of Prokofieff, the orchestrator, uniting an intoxicating many colored palette with clean discipline of orchestral development." The opening movement with its weeping lines, its varied color contrasts, and its dramatic moments is perhaps the most engaging. It is performed tonight for the first time in this state.

PROGRAM

PRAELUDIUM Jarnefelt

CONCERTO IN D MAJOR Haydn Allegro moderato Adagio Allegro

Paul Olefsky, Cellist

Intermission

SYMPHONY NO. 5, OPUS 100 Prokofieff Andante Allegro marcato Adagio Allegro giocoso

A reception for members of the orchestra and audience, honoring Mr. Olefsky, will be held in the Ballroom of the New Student Center immediately following the concert.

--- ORCHESTRA PERSONNEL ---

FIRST VIOLINS Leona Underkofler Concertmistress Elvira McWilliams Mathys Abas Gloria Griffin Steven Durtschi SECOND VIOLINS Laura Turner Carolyn Dutson Elva Mae Nye Nancy Rice Colleen Puterbaugh Pamela Kangas Nancy Langworthy Pat Call Marilyn Cosho Katherine Herrick VIOLAS Mark Griffin Sylvia Arbelbide Carol Strong Steven Drakulich CELLOS Sally Runner Suzanne Townsend Porter Dutson Cindy King Sue Callister BASSES John Hamilton Robert Bakes Jerry Lee Bruce Fuller HARP Frances Averill PIANO Larry Clabby

FLUTES AND PICCOLO Lynn Craig Mary Bass Julie Kreinseick OBOES AND ENGLISH HORN Russell Mamerow Ferne Coonrod Vicki Paine **CLARINETS** John Spoljarick John Huxsol Ronald Morris BASS CLARINET Jim Anderson CONTRA-BASS CLARINET Debbie Porter BASSOONS Greg Vaught Anne Morrow HORNS James Henry Carol Crooks Terry Seitz Dawn Taylor TRUMPETS Spencer Ward Lee Jones Sharon Paine TROMBONES Roy Olds Kenneth Eichelberger David Garner TUBA John Clark TTMPANT John Cummins PERCUSSION Lee Abbott Douglas Ward LaNetta Maxfield